Kawasaki Versys Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Vrooming on a 2019 Versys 650
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Howdy, Versys riders.

Welp, I've been a WA resident for 42 years and have never traversed (it's thesaurus day, apparently) the North Cascades Highway. That is, never...until last Saturday when @Craigar invited me out for a two-wheeled stroll.

Neah Bay? On my Butler Maps list of best in-state rides, but ferries + holiday congestion (Sequim to Port Angeles can be annoying already)? Naw.

Mount St. Helens via NFD 25? I mean, it's open for summer and looks nice, but until you get to the famous spots, appears to offer very little in terms of views? Nope.

North Cascades Highway? Debris can be an issue as can cold temps even when—or especially when—it's newly opened for the season. But another friend just rode it and had a free & clear journey. And my neighbor and everyone else swears it's the Alps of the Pacific Northwest.

Let's do it, we decide.

Holy cow, what have I been waiting for? Gorge-ous sights, riding, and weather.

Captions throughout below:

Diablo Lake didn't have its usual turquoise glow but was a pristine viewing/stretch break nevertheless.

I don't have a center stand like Neil Peart did (and I'm not stupid enough to park my 650 on this busy highway) so this is my best "Ghost Rider" homage. RIP Neil/RIP Rush (the band. Rush is a band).

@Craigar sportin a very slick-looking '15 Versys 1000. Looked crystal-clean the whole ride somehow...(my ride in foreground shows the dirt and dust more)?

Worth 1,000 words.

Sexy, don't you agree? Check out the unintentionally well-lit radiator guard (a favorite of my cheap but well-made Chinese import mods)

Now that's a hero pose (and he wasn't even trying). @Craigar for the win.

Washington Pass. Too beautiful to really drink in, and perhaps my favorite natural spot in WA as of now. My neighbor was right (Alps of the Pac NW, etc)