Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

T-Rex Racing Skid Plate Install

3K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  Alvinator 
#1 ·
I recently ordered:https://www.t-rex-racing.com/2015-2019-Kawasaki-Versys-650-Skid-Plate-p/n54-15sp.htm

Installed it on my 2015 650 LT over the last two days. I'm a decent shade tree mechanic, but found the install moderately difficult and time consuming. The issues I found:
1. There doesn't appear to be instructions, just the video posted on the above link. I had to replay the video numerous times and thank God for YouTube's ability to set playback speed as I had to review numerous scenes in slow-mo.
2. As shown in the pictures, the right rear bracket is too short by about 1.25 inches. I ended up going to the hardware store and buying a 6by1by1/8 piece of steel bar stock, already conveniently painted black and drilled with slotted holes where needed. I rounded off the edges on my bench grinder to get it to fit. The other brackets are about 1/4 inch thick, but the 1/8 inch bar stock in back looks plenty hefty to me.
3. As shown, I already had the Givi engine guards installed, so had to work around those. This required loosening the 3 bolts (hex head, allen head, hex head) holding each engine guard in place, and completely removing the front one and the 1/2 bushing behind it. I replaced the 1/2 inch bushing with the T-Rex bracket and 5 or 6 flat washers to make up the difference in thickness. Then re-tightened all 3 bolts.
4. The plate clears the pipes and bottom of the engine with room to spare, but is touching the exhaust pipes in front.
5. The skid plate I installed does not look like the one shown on the link page, which I am guessing is the one for a Gen1 or Gen2 Versys. It does seem to match the one in the install video, minus the too-short bracket of course.