Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I have a 2018 model and from the first time I started it, I hear the whirling noise of the engine, like a cricket or a whistle. I hear it only at low RPM (max 4000 rpm), if i go over 4000 rpm so the sound almost disappear and the engine start to roar. I have the doubt that it's could not be normal, is it?

·
Super Moderator
19,160 Posts
I don't recall ever hearing something like you describe, but I've been riding the V650 for the past 10 years, so MAYBE I just forgot.

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't recall ever hearing something like you describe, but I've been riding the V650 for the past 10 years, so MAYBE I just forgot.
This is the sound I'm talking about: https://streamable.com/cdrfo

I hear it when I'm run too and at low RPM, when I'm going over 4000 rpm it almost disappear since the engine start to roar more

Inviato dal mio SM-G965F utilizzando Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,190 Posts

I hear it when I'm run too and at low RPM, when I'm going over 4000 rpm it almost disappear since the engine start to roar more

My 2015 sounds exactly like yours. I believe that this is normal.:)

·
Registered
533 Posts
Only thing I could hear in that recording was the perfectly normal primary gear whine which has been around since my first Kawi Z1in 1973.

·
Registered
8,000 Posts
It'll smooth out some as it breaks in... How many miles are on it now, and has the original oil been replaced already? Some of the whistling sound is attributable to stock catalyzed muffler as well.

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
It'll smooth out some as it breaks in... How many miles are on it now, and has the original oil been replaced already? Some of the whistling sound is attributable to stock catalyzed muffler as well.
I have 1.200km i already changed the oil :)