Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

Okay, this might be a stupid question. I'm still a total Moto Noob. I passed my safety course (Canadian version of the MSF), and am now just practicing before I do my road test in a week.

I bought a 2018 Versys-X new. I've only got 150 km on the odo thus far.

One problem with the bike that my friend noticed the other day is that I cannot use the steering lock. I can turn the bike On and Off okay. But when I push the key in and try to move it to the leftmost position to lock the steering, it doesn't work. I tried both keys. The cylinder rotates about 2/3 of the way between off and lock. The key is not removable in that position, and the steering is not locked in that position. So I have to turn the key back to off to remove it and the steering isn't locked.

I ensured that the handlebars were maximally rotated to the left before attempting the above procedure.

Am I missing something or is there a problem with the bike?

Thanks for any tips / advice. Again, sorry if this is a dumb question.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
2W4F,

That took me literally two seconds to do, and it totally worked. I just backed off the L rotation of the bars by about 5 degrees and the cylinder rotated perfectly.

Thanks so much! That made my day.

:)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Shortly after getting my x300, I had the opposite problem. I parked my bike and with the steering locked. However, when I tried to unlock, I couldn't get the key to turn clockwise to unlock. It took about half an hour of rocking the handlebar (whisk included slight adjustments of the handlebar from the full turn), moving the bike backwards and forwards. Then miraculously it unlocked. I still don't understand what happened and I am nervous about using the steering lock.

·
Premium Member
7,808 Posts