Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
949 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
During my years as a drivability tech, I learned that some engines run as designed or better with certain brands of spark plugs, and much more poorly than designed with others. GM vehicles really like Denso and NGK plugs (as well as AC Delco), and run horribly with Autolite and Champion.

Which brands does a Versys 1000 like best?

·
Registered
804 Posts
I don't think you can go wrong with either NGK or Denso. I always keep one extra plug around in case I drop and break one(BTDT back in my mechanic days, and later).

BTW, one of the cheaper places to get the plugs is at the dealer, cheaper than Advance, etc unless they jacked up the price. I get mine, along with sprockets, chains, tires and other misc at Rocky Mountain ATV. Excellent pricing and service, though they now charge sales tax, following the law(I think).

·
Registered
949 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the response. I was thinking NGK or Denso.

I tried to keep up with a sport bike on the way to work last night, and ran out of poop at 115 in 6th. Looked up the spark plug change interval and realized I've more than doubled the miles.

My dealer is making it really difficult to buy from them. Rocky mountain sounds pretty good.

·
Super Moderator
16,058 Posts
Thank you for the response. I was thinking NGK or Denso.

I tried to keep up with a sport bike on the way to work last night, and ran out of poop at 115 in 6th. Looked up the spark plug change interval and realized I've more than doubled the miles.

My dealer is making it really difficult to buy from them. Rocky mountain sounds pretty good.

I get my plugs off Amazon...

·
Registered
7,968 Posts

·
Registered
949 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
You can also get Denso 1502002 oil filters from Rock Auto, while you're at it.

Denso FTF Engine Oil Filter Features:

-Heavy-duty steel case resists distortion