Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I'm brand new to the forum and actually brand new to motorcycling. I picked up a 2016 Versys 650 and I'm looking to add some crash guards to protect the investment, especially being I'm new to riding.

What would you all recommend? I suppose for me, I'm mostly interested in budget friendly options. The previous owner already installed some frame sliders, but I'm looking for a bit more protection. Let me know what you have and why you like them. Thanks gang!

·
Registered
4,696 Posts
I had SW Motech engine guards on my '11. Saw a video of a bike doing a low side with them on and just a few scuffs. Not sure the difference in coverage for the 3rd gen bikes. Whatever you look at, you want to make sure they have at least 3 mounting points so they don't just bend. Even so called frame sliders that only have one mount point end up snapping off in anything more than a tip over.

·
Registered
1,233 Posts
I have sliders on both the front and rear axles. Also good crash bars that wrap the lower engine. Many crash bars only protect the upper parts of the engine and some plastics, but that isn't enough if you go down on other than a smooth surface. If you slide into a kerb the bottom of the engine could be damaged, or if you ride on dirt roads there could be a rock right at the wrong spot when you tip over even at low speed.

Good frame sliders might be enough if you only ride on pavement.

If you have rear luggage installed it can help protect the bike. There are rear luggage guards available which stick out just in front of the factory hard plastic panniers. If you ride with the rear luggage a lot of the time, the guards may be well worth the investment.

I don't have an underside bash plate even though I ride off road some. The muffler sits under the oil pan, and while I don't hope to use the muffler as a bash plate, the cost of a good bash plate deters me.