Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there all,just bought new 2016 versys650 lams.Love it already. I have open license, and want to derestrict the bike.I know how to do the throttle. Need info on ecu plug.Have seen videos of other models that have that plug with the looped wire,and have seen how you pull it out and tape it up.Can't see any such plug under my seat that has the loop wire on it.Can someone tell me where the specific place to find the plug,what colour it is and what I do to it.Please don't give me general information, but be quite specific, as I can over look things easily. Much thanks in advance for your help
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
derestrict 650 2015

Any one know where the he'll the ecu plug I disconnect is meant to be found.Can't Ser any plug with a loop wire.is the versys650 2015 plug different than that of the ninjas 2012 650 with the plug with the loop wire in the end of plug.Any help would be much appreciated
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,040 Posts
I can help with the 2010 - 2014 model, however I believe the 2015 - 16 is different. Eddie do you know where the Diagnostics / ECU plug is on the 2015?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
19,160 Posts
I can help with the 2010 - 2014 model, however I believe the 2015 - 16 is different. Eddie do you know where the Diagnostics / ECU plug is on the 2015?
Yes - it's just aft of the tool-kit, and attaches to the same 'shiny' metal piece, while the ECU is just aft AGAIN, and UNDER the frame cross-piece.



ECU under that wide frame bit, the diagnostic just in front.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for your reply,that plug that is just behind the toolkit doesn't have a loop wire on it.Do I just pull the plug top off and tape it up?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,040 Posts
I'm really not sure about the 2015 - 16 sorry and like eddie said the US / Canada models don't have it. Does the plug top appear to have a bridge (does it short out 2 contacts)?
If so you could try it (at your own risk).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
derestrict 650 2015

Thanx Maverick and Eddie. Will give it a go.I've just come from 150 hp litre bike,so any improvement in power will be appreciated,not that it's slow.For a 650 she absolutely hauls.Love the handling of it.Can't wait to get it broken in,so I can stick it to the sports bikes through the mountain twisties. Already taken it to the edge of the tyres,and can't seem to scrap the pegs,so that's absolutely brilliant.😜😎
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
19,160 Posts
After I took an advanced-rider course in Gilbert, AZ, I scraped the feelers on my left-peg several times on my '08, but I haven't done it in a LONG time...!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I removed the end of that plug just behind the toolkit, and no difference whatsoever. It had the black and yellow wire, but no apparent bridge that would short out 2 circuits. I'm at a loss as to what to do with the electronic restrictions side of things. Even the Kawasaki mechanic didn't know because it's a new model. Has anyone out there bought one of the restricted models and derstricted them?Can't see any plug with a loop wire in it.Help!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
456 Posts
Howcome you bought a LAMS bike if they are more expensive than the regular ones? Also, they have better resale value if they remain restricted, so I wouldn't do anything permanent.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,040 Posts
LAMS are the same price as unrestricted, mods are easily reversed. On the MK 2 anyway. I put mine back to restricted to sell it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Thanx whoknows,what exactly is "flashing",who does it?My dealer says they can't tell me anything.I got their mechanic talking, and even he didn't know, except for the throttle restriction.Why I bought the land was because of two reasons. One being I thought it would be simple to derestrict and to restore restrictions when I was to sell,and second because it was $2000 cheaper than retail price because I showed them a brand new2015 model I could get for $8690 ride away, and they did a deal
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Flashing is just reprogramming the ECU. In the lams Versys case it would be changing the programming to that of a ECU from a unrestricted Versys.

My dealer did say it was reversible and although he couldn't do it he knew a place that did. Best bet would just be to go see a few dealers and ask. Im sure one of them would help. Don't know if I will bother derestricting it or not yet.

Paid $7990 for my 2015 Lams version new. I figured at that price if I didn't like it I could always sell it and not really lose anything.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Thanx for info whoknows,sounds like you bought a bargain, lucky bugger.Just found out it may cost up to $800 to get it to full power😭😭😭.Just wondering if it's worth it?Maverick, just wondering the difference it made to your bike when you went to full power.Was it night and day difference, or just a slight noticeable difference? In other words, should I spend the cash?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,040 Posts
The 2012 model, no it wasn't night and day just gave a bit more throttle opening and a little more up top. It wasn't dramatic, the 2015 / 16 I don't know. From what I read they have a little more power and I know they have a different exhaust. If it was mine I would not spend $800 to get the ECU flashed there will be cheaper options soon if not already.
 
1 - 20 of 45 Posts
Top