Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a new-to-me 2008 Versys I got second hand. I'm 255lbs and I'm considerably bigger than the man I bought it from.

So I figured I should consider adjusting my preload. The owners manual and the service manual seem a bit vague to me. I'm new to all this as well.

Judging from the indentations, I know it's not in the stock #5 position as per the manual. But I can't convince myself if it's in the #2 or the #6 spot.

Where it's at now feels super soft, I've also been experiencing some loss of traction in slow speed turns (around 10-20 mph) and off the line from a stop, both good dry pavement and off the line . Replaced my tires too and still having the same effect. So I need to do something about it. Feel free to enlighten me!

·
Registered
237 Posts
The lowest position would be 1. As you go higher up, you are compressing that spring resulting in a stiffer ride. If you go too high, it will jump back to the number 1 mark which would be the softest position. But at your weight, my guess it you would sit on the bike and have the shock compress, but not return to the original height of the ride.

Technically, the way I've dialed in the shocks on previous rides is to set them at a position and then sit on the ride. You want the shock to compress, but then return to the original position. This will give you the most travel at your given weight. If it doesn't compress at all when you sit on it or slightly bounce then it is too stiff. And so on.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Maybe I am missing something but to me....the owners manual shows that as the collar height gets taller or closer to the front of the bike you are moving towards position 1 (weaker) and as it gets shorter you are moving towards position 7 (stronger)

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

Attachments

·
Registered
237 Posts