Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I am new here and have been learning on this forum since about March of this year. I have always been a metric cruiser guy (since I was a kid). I have been riding for several decades.

I've been becoming more and more attracted to the sport/touring, adventure/touring type of bikes in the last several years. I like sport bikes, but not the riding position, (just my preference), so the sport/touring type bikes with the upright riding position appeal more to me.

Anyway, both the 650 and 1000 LT Versys' have caught my eye. I definitely like the new updated look. When I saw the specks and the reasonable MSRP's, I liked them even more. I would prefer a belt or shaft drive, but that's not a big issue.

I've owned at least 3 Kawi's in past years and like all metrics I've owned, I've had no problems with them whatsoever.

I test-drove a 2015 Versys 1000 LT on Saturday. It was a different experience then what I am used to, to say the least. I have never owned a bike I can't flat foot, so I felt a little uncomfortable on the V. My inseam is 31 1/2". Also, my standard type cruiser boots did not work well with the shifter or the brake pedal. I couldn't get to the controls comfortably. Easy fix, new boots.

I don't want to lower the bike and loose out on the center stand or perhaps a little of the bikes handling.

Question 1: I saw someone post here, but can no longer find the post, that after a few hundred miles or so, his V's suspension broke in some and he could then flatfoot the bike. I believe he had about the same inseam as I do. Can anyone comment on this? I am about 1/2" from flat footing this bike in my 1 3/4" healed boots. The balls of my feet touch, but the heal does not. The dealer barely pressed down on the luggage rack while I was sitting on the bike and my feet, heals and all, were flat on the ground.