Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wear prescription polarized sunglasses and absolutely love them. The polarizing cuts down on the glare so much its amazing. I recently started riding and got a scorpion exo 1100 helmet and the visor (like most brands) says it is optically correct. Yet, I still get a rainbow hue with the visor down. This is only with my polarized sunglasses in case someone tries to say I have a bad visor. I asked my local shop where I bought the helmet and they called up the distributor who said this is common with all helmet visors and polarized glasses.

Has anyone else experienced this? Any replacement visors that don't give a rainbow effect? Is it just this helmet?

·
Registered
665 Posts
Yup. I get the rainbow with both my Shoei and Arai. You ill get this with any cured polycarbonate surface.

I just went with a dark visor and wear my regular glasses.

·
Registered
665 Posts
Yup. But I found the rainbows seriously distracting.

·
Registered
1,791 Posts
I have polarized sunglasses but never use them riding or driving. Much as I'd like the glare-reducing qualities, the tricks that polarized lenses play on curved surfaces are too distracting. I save them for general outdoors activities and boating.

·
Registered
1,107 Posts
that rainbow is cause by the remnant stress put in the visor when it was bent.
we had more labs at university where we studied polarized fringes with polarized glass (same found in polarized sun glasses)
I used polarized sun glasses with my HJC CL-15 and I had some "rainbow" on the right side, but not too distracting.
Now I have a HJC IS-16 with integrated sun visor and I love it ( not polarized)..

·
Registered
4,644 Posts