Kawasaki Versys Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, i'm new to the Versys world, just got a beautiful 2018 Versys 650, like all Versys it has the snatchy on/off throttle

I also currently own a 2014 Vstrom 1000 that has the same problem, what i did is i located the Gear Position Sensor connector and shorted the red and black wires to fool the ECU so it always uses the Neutral map, what gave me this idea is one time i had the bike on it's center stand and experimenting the throttle/rpm control in all gears

All gears has extremely sensible throttle that jumped straight to 4000rpm to slightest throttle input and had snatchy excessive engine braking, exept neutral

riding with this mod on the Vstrom was like another bike, before i always had to use the clutch in city, after no need for clutch as the throttle is so smooth now

Anyway, this is a Versys forum i know, so in the next few days i will try the same mods on my new Versys, i will begin by shorting the clutch switch first , as it uses a different map when the clutch is pulled, if that doesn't work , will try the neutral map mod and report results

I did try the same with the Versys with the rear wheel lifted, i was using steady throttle at 2500 rpm in first gear then without moving the throttle i put the bike in neutral and the rpm drops at 2000 rpm, putting back in first gear the rpm goes back to 2500 rpm, so it seems that the neutral map has more progressive throttle control

I may try the vaccum mod and tps adjutement as well, but now i'm very busy installing tons of accessories

Here's my Vstrom thread i'm anyone wants more detail

Tire Wheel Fuel tank Automotive fuel system Vehicle

Tire Wheel Fuel tank Vehicle Sky

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)