Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,167 Posts
I dont really follow Indy to closely, but after watching those vids, Dixon got screwed. The pit guy was walking there trying to cause problems. He did not go tight behind the car, but took a big loop around the back, while holding the tire out as far as possible. His head never looked at Dixon, but you know his eyes where dead on him.

I would want to see those same angles of a different pit by Power. One where either Dixon was not pitting or even when the crew member did not get hit. Lets see how much tighter he normally goes around the car when he isnt trying to get hit.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,624 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am biased towards Dixon since he is a Kiwi but the whole thing did not look right.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
391 Posts
The Aussies are getting back at us for "so called cheating at rugby", having being beaten twice in a row by the All Blacks. Ewin Mc Kenzie the Aussie coach is a bit of a sore loser. Go the All Blacks, Emerites Team New Zealand, Lydia Ko, Valery Adams, world cup rowers and Scott Dixon. We punch above our weight for a little nation.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,251 Posts
What are the Indy car rules? If a driver hits someone one in the pits are they automatically penalized ?
7.10. Pit Penalties
7.10.1. The following matters and any others which may be determined by the Race Director are cause for a Car to be penalized:
7.10.1.1. Failing to follow designated procedures entering or exiting the pit area, including the acceleration and deceleration lanes;
7.10.1.2. Leaving the assigned pit with air hoses, fuel hoses, tools or other equipment attached to or hanging from the Car;
7.10.1.3. Car passing over or under any air line or hose or any other equipment;
7.10.1.4. Car contact with pit equipment outside of standard pit stop procedures;
7.10.1.5. Contact with another Car;
7.10.1.6. Contact with personnel;
7.10.1.7. Pit personnel not wearing proper attire as set forth in Rule 1.2.7.2;
7.10.1.8. More than six crew members to be on the Track side of the pit wall during a Race;
7.10.1.9. Car entering a pit other than the Car’s assigned pit.
7.10.1.10. Penalties for violations of this Rule include, but are not limited to, a black flag and/or exclusion from the Event. No such decisions may be protested or appealed.

https://hardcards.indycar.com/Resources/pdfs/2013_IICS_Rulebook.pdf
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
745 Posts
7.10. Pit Penalties
7.10.1. The following matters and any others which may be determined by the Race Director are cause for a Car to be penalized:
7.10.1.1. Failing to follow designated procedures entering or exiting the pit area, including the acceleration and deceleration lanes;
7.10.1.2. Leaving the assigned pit with air hoses, fuel hoses, tools or other equipment attached to or hanging from the Car;
7.10.1.3. Car passing over or under any air line or hose or any other equipment;
7.10.1.4. Car contact with pit equipment outside of standard pit stop procedures;
7.10.1.5. Contact with another Car;
7.10.1.6. Contact with personnel;
7.10.1.7. Pit personnel not wearing proper attire as set forth in Rule 1.2.7.2;
7.10.1.8. More than six crew members to be on the Track side of the pit wall during a Race;
7.10.1.9. Car entering a pit other than the Car’s assigned pit.
7.10.1.10. Penalties for violations of this Rule include, but are not limited to, a black flag and/or exclusion from the Event. No such decisions may be protested or appealed.

https://hardcards.indycar.com/Resources/pdfs/2013_IICS_Rulebook.pdf
under 7.10.1.6 looks like the penalty was warranted.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,251 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,983 Posts
Dixon, then in first place, was penalized, costing him the race.

NBC’s commentators were clearly on Dixon’s side. One said of the crew member, walking away from Power’s car with a tire hanging at his side: “He’s just walking as if he’s carrying groceries home from the store.”

If so, it looks like the eggs got broken.

Dixon obviously had no doubt about what he thought happened. He said Power’s crew was trying to make him go around them on his way out of the pits, calling it a “d*ck move.”

http://msn.foxsports.com/home/story/Scott-Dixon-hits-Will-Power-pit-crew-member-but-whose-fault-is-it-082513
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,983 Posts
Dixon and Power were running 1-2 when they pitted on Lap 64, with Power's pit stall directly in front of Dixon's. As the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car made its break, it clipped the right-rear tire carried by Penske crew member Travis Law, which knocked him into airjack man Damon Lopez. A third crew member, Jeremy Baker, was struck with an air gun. They were examine and treated in the infield care center and released.

Race Control issued the penalty after multiple video views. Race director Beaux Barfield cited Rule 7.10.1.6 (contact with personnel; under the pit procedures heading) of the IZOD IndyCar Series rulebook in making the ruling.
"Ultimately, we have a duty to protect everybody in the pit lane," Barfield said. "If we have somebody who uses less than great judgment when they leave their pit box and we have an incident, then we have to make a statement by penalizing. And we're going to make that call. There are a couple of different (video) angles, and clearly the 9 car crosses right into the 12 car's space and that's where the violation occurred. He was in the 12 car's box for a good half-car length."
Dixon, obviously, didn't agree. There were seven penalties issued in the race, including another for a pit safety violation by E.J. Viso (running over an air hose), in the contentious race.

"It's probably the most blatant thing I've seen in a long time," said Dixon, who started on the front row and was seeking his fourth victory in the past five races. "I had a straight line and he walked into us. Pretty annoyed with that; we had a strong car all day."

http://www.indycar.com/News/2013/08/8-25-Power-wins-GoPro-Grand-Prix-of-Sonoma
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,251 Posts
There are a couple of different (video) angles, and clearly the 9 car crosses right into the 12 car's space and that's where the violation occurred. He was in the 12 car's box for a good half-car length."
That's pretty much what I was thinking when I watched the clips... Dixon did enter the pit box in front of him upon exiting his own. Had he not done that there might not have been any contact...
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top