Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello again. Apparently I need to post twice here - so I might as well take advantage, and get some answers to my basic questions...

I am looking to purchase a Versys. It is a bike that fits all the criteria I have, for all the basic reasons that the members here love so much.

My question is: I have been scouring cycle trader, CL etc for a few months, and have finally decided to pull the trigger. But the decision for me now seems to be between a more recent model with higher mileage (2011 with 11,000) or an older model with lower mileage (2009 with 650 miles). Both are very similar in price.

I have done a bunch of research on here about this, but I have not found a post specifically addressing this question. I have read about the motor mount upgrade after 2010, and the cosmetic/color differences don't matter much to me.

My gut tells me that coming from my current bikes (1976 Honda CB 550 and 1993 Yamaha FZR 600) that even the higher vibration on a 2009 V might not bother me much, by comparison, and that the lower mileage bike would be the best call.

But I would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks so much,

Scott

·
Registered
774 Posts
For the same money I would go with the newer. I have 23k on mine and it runs/rides like new. I would rather have a bike that has been ridden assuming it is in good condition.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Kenr,

Would you suggest the newer for the upgrades, or for the fact that someone has ridden it already - and broken it in?

The newer one (2011 with 11,000 miles) is actually from a local dealership, waiting on a call back, wondering if it has the added incentive of a warranty???

Thanks for the quick reply.

·
Registered
3,519 Posts