Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2011 versys 650
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey everyone! im pretty new to the bike world, have had my Versys for one month now and ive just had new tires installed however the front tire is the wrong size and they put on a 120/60 r17 instead of a 120/70 r17.
ill go back to them and ask about it but im really curious to find something about anyone using that tire size or if that's to small or if it doesn't matter between the two.
first bike and just a bit over cautious on everything and thank you for any help or pointers in the right directions

·
Registered
3 Posts
Regardless of whether the tyre will have a positive or negative effect on how the bike rides, I think that unless you know exactly that you want a different size for any reason, you should stick with the manufacturer recommendation.

The question is, did you agree to the size when you were at the shop buying it? Does it match the size written on the receipt? If not, I'd want it replaced.

Nice looking bike though.

·
Registered
2011 versys 650
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
it does not match what I had originally requested and ordered, my receipt shows the proper size of 120/70 r17 so I’ll definitely be going back to them on Monday morning when they open up.
I couldn’t find much on anyone else using 120/60 as a front on the versys and everything else I look up indicates 120/70 so I was worried about it

·
Premium Member
9,463 Posts
Did a quick search, handling and being able to flex is reduced from what I read. So yes return it.

·
Registered
2011 versys 650
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thank you onewizard and bayern with it being my first bike and not having the knowledge about tire sizes I was concerned about it and I couldn't find much on a Versys with a 120/60 front other than just to change it back to 120/70

·
Premium Member
9,463 Posts
What is the tire make / series?

·
Registered
2011 versys 650
8 Posts