Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

New to forum, with 2016 Versys 650

4K views 18 replies 10 participants last post by  onewizard 
#1 ·
Greetings. Thought I would introduce myself. I own a 2016 Versys 650 in black, and I enjoy every minute with it. I ride the backroads in northwest Washington State on the weekends with the occasional hop to the hardware store, occasional commute (pre-COVID, anyway), and lately as a vacation vehicle.

I started riding motorcycles in my mid-teens, which was 40 years ago. My recent previous bikes were a 2003 Suzuki V-Strom DL1000, 2009 Yamaha FZ6R, and 2012 Yamaha FZ8. I was/am one of those riders always looking for the perfect all-arounder. The Versys is as close as I’ve ever come, and ever will I'm pretty sure.

Mods: Hepco & Becker centerstand; Givi D4114 windshield, E22N side cases, E370 top case, and rear hugger; Seat Concepts seat with additional foam; DrySpec Tool Tubes; R&G Racing front fender extender; Kawasaki 12V outlet; SW-Motech GPS mount; and Keiti Additions tank pad.

The windshield is tilted back about 9 degrees. At 5'-11", I look over the top, and the airflow is just over the top of my helmet; no buffeting, turbulence, or wind noise, at least up to 70 mph or so. Because I thought the lower front area of the windshield looked a little odd, I added the two black plastic pieces. I admit they look a little kiddish, but I like the look better than without them.

Some health issues make long-distance touring an unpleasant prospect, so I bought a small trailer and mounted a Pit Bull trailer restraint inside for haul-and-ride road trips. Earlier this month I spent five days doing day trips in central Montana around where I grew up, something I had been thinking about for many years.

The trailer is a CargoMate E-series aluminum 5x8 with rear ramp door and 6-inch extension on the height. The Versys fits nicely inside, and my Highlander tows it all easily.

Be safe and enjoy the journey!

See less See more
#7 ·