Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just killing time until I go pick up my new leftover 2009, from Montgomeryville Cycle Center in PA. Blue with the factory Kawi/Givi bags.

I'm 41 and I've been riding for almost 23 years. My last bike (still in the garage) is a 1999 Honda VFR800, which I've had for just the past 3 years, and in 2010 I took it 9,000 miles around the USA in four week. I wish I had more time, but I'm still writing up that adventure on my website: mototourers.com I started off riding standards, and the VFR was my first real sportbike, which I made more tour-worthy with Heli-bars and Givi cases.

I've heard nothing but good things about the Versys, so I had to jump at the deal: $5500 with the bags (ends up around $6100 OTD). I'm a little short in the inseam for "true" adventure bikes, not to mention my lack of experience riding in dirt. Having grown up in Philadelphia, I never owned a dirtbike for lack of places to ride it (legally). I doubt I'd ever take a BMW GS down a gnarly dirt road anyway. I was looking for a road bike that would be better than my VFR when I pull into campsites or my Garmin puts me on a gravel road going over a mountain. I'd still never intentionally take the unpaved roads, so the Versys seems like the perfect slant of sporty on-road performance and fireroad capability. In a touring rig, I think I'd prefer ABS and shaft drive for safety and reliability, but at this price point, I can't complain.

Less than two hours until my loving wife drives me to pick it up. I'll post pics and my initial impressions after I get in a few hours of riding this afternoon. Thank goodness for a mild winter!!!

·
Premium Member
16,142 Posts
:welcome: & Congrats...

·
Registered
421 Posts
:thumb:New V and a beautiful day to ride today in Penns Woods.

Congrats

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #11