Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a college student going to U of A, had some money saved up since I got a pretty good scholarship so I spent it on a 2009 kawasaki versys
.... that I promptly wrecked. It was great fun for a while but as usual I went beyond my limitations. I wasn't hurt too bad but the bike is having some shifting trouble and I came here for help and hopefully a good community eventually.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Welcome man, sorry to hear about your wreck... hope you recover soon and get back on two wheels.
As for your shifting problem, what are the symptoms and describe what exactly the problem is and we can try to figure out what your problem ia

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Sorry to hear that but glad you are ok.

Pls elaborate on the shifting. Which side of the bike that went down?

U of A, what does that 'A' stands for? Arkansas, Alabama, Alaska,....?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
U of Arizona, it's down in Tucson.
Well the shifting...
It works fine when I'm actually riding, but I thought I was able to shift up while stationary before. Not like it's ever necessary but I figured it might indicate a problem. Basically if I'm sitting still I can't go up past neutral but maybe the trannys designed that way so you don't stall trying to start out in 3rd or something.
I'm pretty inexperienced for having crashed so it's kind of embarrassing. It was a pretty soft lowside up in the mountains. It looks like the plastic took most of the forceful impact so I cant see how there'd be internal damage although the shift lever is bent back.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Heres a picture of the shifter and also a stray electrical lead. Is that for aftermarket accessories and I just need to tuck it back in somewhere or has something been ripped off?
I didn't realize it'd be tough owning a bike down here. Where I grew up I know plenty of people who could help me but not so much now.