Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For many years I have had a rare earth magnet attached to the outside hex end of the oil drain plug on all my bikes. While changing my oil I noticed that, although the magnet is very powerful, the "business" end inside the oil pan has a very low magnetic field. Probably due to the length of the bolt, or whatever, I'm no scientist.

I took a close look at the length of the bolt and the "well" it seats in and decided that there is virtually no risk of a magnet detaching from the bolt by being attracted to other ferrous metals inside the oil pan, if the magnet was installed on the "business" end of the bolt inside the oil pan.

The bolt has a scalloped shape on the end, so I chose a magnet that fit the shape perfectly. For safety I used a very strong epoxy glue to ensure that the magnet will stay put. Cheap and cheerful.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
16,113 Posts

·
Super Moderator
1,484 Posts
Gears, buckets shims cams and bearing are not alloy. Any wear of surface will allow metal particles to flow about the engine those too small to be filtered by the filter might be caught by the magnet.

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I bought and installed a magnetic drain plug for my Versys years ago. It doesn't cost much, is easy to install and adds an extra level of protection. Well worth the money and effort.
I'm frugal and already had the magnet. Saved the cost of a tank of gas.;)

·
Super Moderator
19,023 Posts
I attach a "rare-earth" magnet, about 1" diameter, to the end of my oil-filter, after the filter's seated, and it remains there till THAT filter's been removed (so no material gets dislodged while the old filter's still on the engine). Then I take it off, wipe it to get it ready to be re-attached.

ALL your oil goes thru the filter, so I figure this is the best way to capture any wayward ferrous particles....

:goodidea:

·
Premium Member
16,113 Posts