Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello from NYC! Hope everyone is doing well in these uncertain times!

I've been riding for a couple of years on a 2008 Suzuki C50 LE. My current bike looks nice, but ergonomics (6'3", 34" inseam [190 cm, 87 cm - inseam]) not the best for me even after forward controls and custom seat. C50's 819CC engine is weak at 45lb/ft for such a heavy bike (approx. 600 LB+ as equipped), very mildly tuned and vibrates A LOT, especially above 60 MPH. Rear drum brake and complete lack of ABS even on 2020 models doesn't help (more on that some other time).

I started thinking of upgrading to a bike with newer technology and Versys platform seems to be a good fit. VStrom is another option (not a fan of Yamaha's offering in this class) but I don't do off-road riding, so wheel size and a recent style change on VStorm are a turn-off for me. I do like the cruiser look of Suzuki C50, but I need something with recent tech, large enough to be comfortable both in the city and longer highway rides, and be able to ride all year round (rain/shine/winter, summer and everything in between).

I would like to know which bike is more comfortable for a taller rider Versys 650 or 1000 from the factory and after mods. Sat on both in the showroom, 1000 is the right size for me, but it is a big bike... I don't know if it makes sense to buy that when I live in a big city and have a fairly short commute.