Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello :)

Looking for feedback. I just started riding this year and it is quickly becoming an addiction. I am 6'8" so this is one of the few bikes I can fit on comfortably (I really do not like the noise or feel of a cruiser/bagger. I feel like I'm smuggling a football). I bought the 2018 Versys 650 as my first bike and in about 1.5 months have around 4500 miles. I am obsessed with the bike. Fast, nimble, and really fun in the corners. My only negative comment is anything over 1.5 hours (90-100 miles) in the seat and my right shoulder starts hurting and the good ol' sit bone starts to get the pangs. That is about it. I was looking to put about $3500 into mods for it via new seat/exhaust/bags etcetera to have it be my everyday lifetime seasonal bike.

Here is the quandary... I love speed and windy roads which the v650 is a master at. With that said a dealer near me has a deal on a 2019 V1K SE LT that I having a hard time looking the other way. For essentially an extra 4k on top of what I was planning to spend + trade-in of my v650, I can upgrade to the 1k with all the gizmos out the door price of $13000 on a demo bike with only 1200 miles on it and manu warranty still intact.

I know it's going to be a bigger heavier bike, but has anyone made the change and wished they could go back? I was planning on getting the 1k as my next bike anyway, just not after 2 months and 4500 miles of riding. I sat on it and it just felt hubris right and I was smiling ear to ear, but I cannot test ride the bike the way I usually ride when stuck in urban America. I am fearful I will go to the 1k and lose the nimbleness of the bike and have buyers remorse. I am a pavement goblin and will explore any and every paved street, no offroad adventures, but if I can find a road with 55+ MPH speed limit and curve, I will do it multiple times, like the dragons tail in KT.

TL : DR (first post, be gentle)