Kawasaki Versys Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have seen some bikes that do not use the locking pin. Considering how strongly the nut is bolted, it seems that there is very little chance for it getting loose. Fitting that pin and then taking it out is just annoying.

·
Registered
369 Posts
How often are you loosening your axle that it becomes annoying? I've seen people post where people use a hitch clip instead of the cotter pin. But personally as often as I have to loosen the axle, the cotter pin isn't a big deal. I just bought a bunch of them at a hardware store.

·
Registered
541 Posts
I know what you mean because in 40+ years of riding, I've never had an axle nut loosen up, but I still wouldn't go without something (cotter pin, hitch clip, safety wire, small bolt and nut, sturdy stick, LOL) acting as a fail-safe unless it was in some weird situation and for a short distance. I've been using hitch clips for many years, oriented so they can't be pulled out inadvertently by getting snagged on a branch or something weird.

·
Premium Member
9,463 Posts
I went to my local bolt and nut supply and got a fujilok nut

·
Super Moderator
20,444 Posts
My suggestion - just BECAUSE Kawi takes BOTH ends of the cotter-pin and WRAPS it around the axle, does NOT mean you have to!

I just spread ONE of the two ends so that they make an "included-angle" of about 45 degrees (which will keep the cotter-pin from 'backing out' IF the nut was NOT tightened securely).

IMG_0223 by Ed Copeman, on Flickr

·
Registered
1,113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 · (Edited)
My suggestion - just BECAUSE Kawi takes BOTH ends of the cotter-pin and WRAPS it around the axle, does NOT mean you have to!

I just spread ONE of the two ends so that they make an "included-angle" of about 45 degrees (which will keep the cotter-pin from 'backing out' IF the nut was NOT tightened securely).

IMG_0223 by Ed Copeman, on Flickr