Kawasaki Versys Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really want to add a top case especially as fall approaches so I can have the right gear for the temperature when I’m on long rides. I’m a little worried that adding a top case will affect frisky riding though. Has anyone added a top case and noticed a difference? I already have the factory panniers installed and the top case I’m looking at is the same as the factory one. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
16,332 Posts
I had a Givi E-55 Topcase on my 2016 and had no issues. I was always running high speeds out here in SoCal...

P1020355 by weljo2001, on Flickr

·
Registered
518 Posts
I'm just an accountant, so maybe some engineers will have a different opinion... but it seems like the windscreen and your body should pretty much deflect any wind around the top box, so you don't have to worry about wind resistance. Unless you plan on putting a 100-pound bowling ball in there and not tying it down, I don't think the static weight will create enough impact to the COG that you would even notice it.:unsure:

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm just an accountant, so maybe some engineers will have a different opinion... but it seems like the windscreen and your body should pretty much deflect any wind around the top box, so you don't have to worry about wind resistance. Unless you plan on putting a 100-pound bowling ball in there and not tying it down, I don't think the static weight will create enough impact to the COG that you would even notice it.:unsure:
This is basically what I was thinking as well, but wasn’t sure if there was something I had not considered. Thanks.

·
Registered
20 Posts
I have an 80 liter aluminum top box on mine.
Tire Wheel Vehicle Automotive lighting Motor vehicle