Kawasaki Versys Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Disclaimer

Following are the steps that have been followed to complete front end suspension modifications on my bike.

I am not a mechanic and these are not shop manual instructions.

If you choose to follow the steps on these pages, you do so AT YOUR OWN RISK.

I assume no liability for any damages, direct or otherwise, resulting from the use of this information.

If you are not comfortable or unfamiliar with this process, stop! Do not proceed and seek out a qualified technician to complete your suspension modifications.

Introduction

I have often heard suspension experts say that harshness is mainly caused by damping. In general, their findings have indicated that a controlled comfortable ride usually comprised linear springs that are stiffer than OEM along with milder compression damping and adequate rebound.

For many years, my quest for a more compliant touring suspension comprised the installation of progressive fork springs plus the use of lighter viscosity fork oils. Progressive springs are a compromise which allows low-speed comfort while preventing excessive bottoming. These springs are useful to ride on the street but not on a race track … but I like them because I’m a street only rider. :)

After having completed the above on my 2015 Versys 650, I decided that it was about time for me to stop procrastinating and to modify the front suspension damping assembly of my bike. I prefer a suspension that soaks up small bumps and pot holes on the road, but at the same time that is still firm enough to absorb the heavy ones. Along with enhanced riding comfort, I needed to avoid causing excessive front end dive during braking.

With the above in mind, I decided to revalve the damping (compression and rebound) in the right front fork of my 2015 Versys 650.

Note: This decision was inspired by this fork revalve thread for Gen 1 and Gen 2 Versys 650: