Kawasaki Versys Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been looking for a 2015 and up Versy's. I ended up finding a 2013 that I really like, and it's set up just the way I would set it up. (ADV bike style)
I plan to use this bike as a side bike that would get used for 80% on road and 20% light dirt and gravel roads. This would not be a trip bike, but would regularly see 200'ish miles rides.
I've heard these have higher vibrations than the 2015 up bikes, and less wind protection. I'm wondering if it is enough to worry about.
Also due to some ankle and hip issues (getting older sucks) comfort is of course an issue.
Can anyone give me any reason why I shouldn't get this bike, or why I should hold out for a 2015 up other than resale?
I really like this bike, and the only reason i'm hesitant is because it is not the more current version.
thanks, any advice is welcome as I have never riden a Versys before.

( I have been riding for 33 years and currently have a Chieftain, Heritage, and CRF450RL)
here is a pic of the bike i'm thinking about
Tire Wheel Land vehicle Vehicle Fuel tank
Tire Wheel Land vehicle Vehicle Fuel tank

·
Registered
102 Posts
For me ill get a gen 3 with a more modern look although mine is a Gen 1.
Vibrations on my gen 1 isnt really that bad. Like they said if its a parallel twin the vibration is always there but you get used to it and no longer something to even worry. My 09 doesnt even have ABS and its not something i worry.

·
Premium Member
10,300 Posts
I will give the pluses and minuses . I had a 07 now a 2015.