Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
versys 2007ABS
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in need of some advice. I want to install a gear indicator as I'm a newbie in all aspects. First big bike and in the throws of doing my test.
I have a 2007 V-650 ABS and like the look of the round gear indicators a I think they look a lot nicer installed into the dash as apposed to the gllpro ones that stick on. However from what I have learnt so far the latter seems to be the better and more reliable option. Please help and steer me i. The right direction.
Any reccomendations would be a great help

·
Registered
724 Posts
Hi, welcome to the forum.
I`d suggest you spend a few months without mods to avoid rushing in useless things.

You don't need a gear indicator. You should change gear when needed. You wouldn't do yourself a favor by building dependency on a gear indicator. If it is to fix the annoyance of trying to go in 7th gear, or below 1st gear, then I don't know what to say except that you have that indicator already and it's read with your left foot... I suspect you are mostly annoyed of trying to take off in 2nd or above and that isn't something hard to correct. You just need to built an habit of downshifting them all while you come to a stop, the same way you build an habit to remove the blinker after a turn.

Whatever you put in the dashboard, you have only 2 places. I would strongly recommend a voltmeter for the 1st choice. Then think of the future: you are likely to want a USB charger, whether it's for the phone or headset. So unless you find some amazing combo dash port, you don't get a 3rd choice for a 'distracting' gear indicator.

So if you absolutely can't pass on gear indicator, then I would have to suggest a stick on, in the anticipation that you will remove it later.

Hope this helps.