Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone used any electronic cruise controls on the V or heard of anyone using them? Just from browsing around for a bit I found a couple. One not made for bikes but has been used for them at about $300 with all the stuff, and another for probably over $1000 after shipping from Australia. The one from Australia says it's for 2009 and up, any ideas why it wouldn't work on a 2008? Thoughts on e-cruise in general?

http://www.murphskits.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=369

http://www.mccruise.com/collections/kawasaki/products/23
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
943 Posts
Has anyone used any electronic cruise controls on the V or heard of anyone using them? Just from browsing around for a bit I found a couple. One not made for bikes but has been used for them at about $300 with all the stuff, and another for probably over $1000 after shipping from Australia. The one from Australia says it's for 2009 and up, any ideas why it wouldn't work on a 2008? Thoughts on e-cruise in general?

http://www.murphskits.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=369

http://www.mccruise.com/collections/kawasaki/products/23
Haven't installed them on a Versys - but have on two VTX1300's and a FJR1300.

The installation is basically the same.

Find a good place to mount the cruise unit, make a small vacuum chamber and get some vacuum line. Find the tach wire, etc.

Do a Google search for "Rostra cruise install" or "Audiovox CC-100 cruise install" and see what you come up with. Page down thru all of the first page advertising boat cruises to exotic locations. lol

It won't be for the Versys, but you can adapt much of that information relatively easily.

Rosta is now marketing what used to be the Audiovox electronic cruise.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
456 Posts
I've used throttle locks, and they are good to relax your hand, but not really a cruise control. Depending on wind and slope you can set it to the speed limit and then find yourself doing 10 or even 15+ I keep adjusting it every couple minutes...

The main advantage to electronic CC is that it will adjust your speed.

http://www.murphkits.com

I know of a guy that posted on ADV that has the rostra installed on a Versys. I'm going to install it on mine :)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,056 Posts
I have the throttle lock, there was a Vista Cruise , that is now disconntinued, a few early on this forum installed them, need to dig to find them. There was considerable work involved, including installing a vacuum canister. To be honest, I use cruise control all the time in the car on long trips, on the bike it is rare that I am going at one fixed speed, due to traffic, road conditions etc. The only place I could see using it would be going on the TransCanada in Manitoba.

Throttle lock is a single right thumb to lock or release, I think I paid $50 , 5 years ago, still works the same as 5 years ago.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I already have a Vista Cruise throttle lock on mine. I was meaning literal cruise control. I have seen the Rostra cc and have emailed an Australian company that has one that will work on a 2009 but will not say yes or no for a 2008 as they haven't looked at one. Correct me if I'm wrong, but the year that things changed was 2010 right? I emailed them, MC Cruise and they sent the instal manuals for me to look at. Only thing bad about that system is it's almost $1000USD, and has to be shipped from there. While I have seen that the Rostra will work on the Concours but it is not recommended for motorcycles. I like the MC Cruise setup because it's a complete kit and just a matter of plugging things in and mounting them right.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
943 Posts
I already have a Vista Cruise throttle lock on mine. I was meaning literal cruise control. I have seen the Rostra cc and have emailed an Australian company that has one that will work on a 2009 but will not say yes or no for a 2008 as they haven't looked at one. Correct me if I'm wrong, but the year that things changed was 2010 right? I emailed them, MC Cruise and they sent the instal manuals for me to look at. Only thing bad about that system is it's almost $1000USD, and has to be shipped from there. While I have seen that the Rostra will work on the Concours but it is not recommended for motorcycles. I like the MC Cruise setup because it's a complete kit and just a matter of plugging things in and mounting them right.
That's the liability disclaimer. "Not for motorcycle use".

Over ten years ago, we started putting those Audiovox CC-100 units on motorcycles. Anytime we called tech support and asked a question, they nearly hung up on us when we told them that the target vehicle was a motorcycle.

They were marketed as "Universal Cruise Control" for automobiles and (at one time) were great sellers. Times change.

I bought ten of those units at the local auto parts store for $30 each, sitting in the "Clearance" bin.

So, electronic cruise could be had for about $40 (total) and a few hours of labor.

Once people started putting them on motorcycles and demand increased, the price jumped to around $120.

Audiovox stopped selling that unit, but (apparently) the manufacturer found another buyer in Rostra. They're selling virtually the same unit as the one that Audiovox was marketing. Not sure, but I think they're made in the same factory.

They are no more or no less applicable to motorcycles than any other electronic cruise control
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
275 Posts
my road glide has cruise and its throttle cable system. I need one on my versys too. going to get one and install when I get my new shop opened up.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top