Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got stuck at a light, here in Arkansas you can turn after the lights completes cycle.
DO these magnet work on todays stoplight systems ?

thanks Cb

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cycle gadgets........

Thanks for the reply. I have been riding for about 40 years, mostly BMW, Goldwings and I still have my 2006 Midnight Yamaha Venture.
I have never encountered this stoplight problem.
Also Cycle gadgets is about 1 hour away from my house and go there often...I plan on going at the end of the week and will see what they think.

Thanks for the reply.

·
Registered
1,838 Posts
I find that as long as I stop over the induction wire it will sense my V. If there are three wires I always stop over the center one, as I have sat through a few lights with a center wire after stopping over one of the side wires. If you can't see the wires try to stop in the center of the lane, but that is a crap shoot. The photo sensors generally will see you. I have read all kinds of conflicting reports about the magnets. You have to break the induction field created by the wires in the road and the V doesn't have enough metal to break them if you aren't over the wire.

There is another thread on the forum about this.

·
Registered
287 Posts
They never worked in the past, so I see no reason they should start working now...:censored:

·
Registered
1,791 Posts
I bought a "green light" magnet years ago...it put me over the free shipping threshold so it was effectively free. I never noticed that it did anything of value.

·
Registered
254 Posts
I wonder if California has such a motorcycle grace? I get stuck all the time and have gone anyway.