Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After installing my new rear sprocket today I managed to break off one of my chain tensioning bolts. I drilled it out and tapped new threads. I am embarrassed to ask but what are the bolts made of? Plain steel, stainless steel or other? I know they go into the aluminum swingarm? I am off to the local hardware store to buy new ones and want to make sure I purchase the right ones. I am no mechanic but the pleasure get out of doing these minor repairs is tremendous.

·
Registered
8,000 Posts
Many reports of broken chain adjustment bolts lately, more if you're near the salty ocean. Oxidation makes the bolt tighter over time as it's not rotated often, and it's exposed to moisture in the swingarm. They're not stainless steel, but they should be. Anti-seize compound should be applied to the threads when it's still new... It helps to retap aluminum bores to clean and sharpen the threads.

M8 x 45mm bolts and nuts available in polished Grade 316 stainless steel, or titanium:

http://www.probolt-usa.com/stainless-steel-axle-adjuster-m8-x-45mm-set-2-x-bolts-2-x-nuts.html

http://www.probolt-usa.com/vaf/prod...1262&Type=8&Year=1294&category=?&prodtype=513

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Invader for your reply. I certainly do live right by the mighty Alantic ocean everything rusts here. We have a saying. "We don't tan, we rust!" Off I go to purchase stainless steel bolts and anti seize. :thanx:

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Did I need a new sprocket?

two years on the aluminium sprocket. I think I needed to replace it!! Then new one cost $55.00 for OEM from the dealer. OEM is steel and much much heavier. I am curious to see how long it lasts.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,535 Posts
You shouldn't waste aluminum on sprockets you're not racing with.
It should be used for producing more cans of stout.