Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time to ever adjust a motorcycle chain. I'm determined to learn to do this simple service myself. I watched a few videos and read the owners manual for my versys. I followed the instructions. Seemed like a simple procedure. I cleaned the chain and relubed it as well. I started with 2.5 inches of play. Now I'm at 1 inch of play. Of course now the chain noise is different. Louder. At low speed I also feel vibration through my feet and some pulsing like chain noise. Maybe chain rubbing too much on the plastic guide? Will this go away? Have I adjusted it too tight? Is the chain worn out? I'm a little OCD about it being correct. Any help appreciated!

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
53 Posts
it may be very tight, it is better to ride 2 people on the bike to adjust the chain, or it is also possible that the chain or front sprocket is worn

·
Registered
1,251 Posts
I found that one inch... although within spec... might be on the tight side of things. Also... Make sure you're measuring at the chain's tightest point. With your back tire elevated with a rear paddock stand... Rotate the rear tire and you'll find where the chain is tightest. Use that spot for your adjustment measurements.

·
Registered
601 Posts
I found that one inch... although within spec... might be on the tight side of things. Also... Make sure you're measuring at the chain's tightest point. With your back tire elevated with a rear paddock stand... Rotate the rear tire and you'll find where the chain is tightest. Use that spot for your adjustment measurements.
+1