Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
775 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a contractor I have been bidding jobs at night, on the V, and bring along a print out of a goggle map to find the location, not good in the dark. Soooo, I want to pull the trigger on a GPS. I know a bunch of you have them, and I need one that is beyond simple (my middle name) to use and easy to read and reasonably priced.
Tkx all

·
Registered
496 Posts
Garmin Zumo 450 with Speedy's mount. Hands down the top dog for me. Waterproof, shockproof, and get's me where I need to be without issue. I've had mine for a year now, but I'm fairly certain they've come down in price drastically since my purchase (I paid around $430 from Amazon.)

Jim

A few shots of mine mounted from a few rev levels of farkles ago:

·
Registered
47 Posts
+1 on the Zumo

I have had a Zumo 550 over a year now and very happy with it.
The 450 would really be fine, ( the 550 has XM, MP3 capability and cost more)

·
Registered
136 Posts
We have been using the Zumo 550 for almost two years now. We have had a couple other GPS units, but this is our favorite. We have it hooked into our Autocom system and we can hear the spoken directions through the intercom and also play MP3's. If something happened to it today, I would replace it with another one.

·
Registered
315 Posts
I have the Garmin Quest and it's a good, versatile unit, but maybe a little more complex than what you have in mind. Everything I've heard about the Zumo is good and if I were buying a new one today that's what I'd probably go with. The display is a good size and with the touch screen feature it's very suitable for bikers, especially if you ride wearing gloves. Shop around because the prices on these vary a LOT!

·
Registered
1,007 Posts
I have a TomTom Rider 2. I bought a TT 1 and it crapped out on me, so they sent me a new 2 at no charge.

I made my own bracket before Speedy's came to market.