Kawasaki Versys Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
861 Posts
Hello Everyone,

I have a 2012 Versys 650 I just bought and it is in need of some new shoes. I will be riding in Colorado for the better part of 3 seasons rain or shine. I'm new to the bike and new to the street but have been riding dirt for a couple years. This bike will be nearly 100% street with a very rare fire road. I've read that it's hard to beat the Michelin road series but I was hoping not to spend that much. Anything close as far as performance/longevity goes for less? I ride and like Kenda tires on dirt but they don't seem to have anything for this bike.

I'm open to any and all suggestions so long as they are primarily a street tire.

Cheers,
Andrew
My riding style on my '15 is a bit "spirited". I'm on my 14th rear tire with 72k miles. Inflation pressures just 2-4 lbs over factory specifications. I bought the bike used with totally worn out factory tires on it. The previous owner went to the dealer for new tires and left with a new Trans Alp.

Some folks get more mileage by over inflating. JMHO, but I don't like giving up some safety to make a tire last a bit longer as I tend to use all of the tire.

I've had three Shinko rears, average life 3500 miles. Better for dirt than actual road tires, not overly inspiring for road use. After Shinkos I went to Pirelli Angel GT. There is no going back to the Shinkos after install a real sport touring tire. I've tried the Angels, Dunlop RS3, 023 and T-31 Evo Bridgestones. The RS3 and Angels lasted 5500 to 6000 miles, the T-31 about 4500. I buy the T-31 now as they run about $105 in rebate season.

The t-31, Angel, and RS3 all handle and ride quite well. A lot smoother ride than the Shinkos. The difference is quite noticeable.

Keep in mind my riding style is quite aggressive and I ride it mostly in the twistys, hence lower mileages than most. But the above info can give you an idea of wear ranges.