Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, instead of buying the Kawasaki power point for crazy money, has anyone bought one of these? I like that it's switched to kill power. Found it on Amazon for $18.60. Not sure it's got enough chops to power some electric grips though, thoughts?
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
56 Posts
So, I also cringed at the cost of the OEM Kawasaki relay and socket for the Versys, but wanted it to be a simple, clean plug-n-play installation. So, I ordered a kit for the Vulcan on ebay, $45. It is the same relay, same socket, plugs right in. All I had to do was modify the bracketry, which was pretty simple with a dremel tool. Just study where it mounts and it is easy to figure out. My socket is in the original spot, with the relay mounted below it. It just has to clear the tank panels, easy peasy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So the only reason to use the Kaw bracket and relay is: 1) it shuts off power via the relay when key is turned off so battery doesn't drain down, and 2) you can use the existing plug dangling on the bike? Can the Kaw plug handle the load pulled by heated grips, and these others cannot? Thanks.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
19,132 Posts
I got the Kawi relay for about $16 Canadian, installed it, then took power off the NOW-powered places for other (non-Kawi) items....

>:)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,159 Posts
im not sure what your asking (dyslexia doesnt help) are you asking if the versys (not sure what gen you have) can handle the plug and heated grips? or how to wire it up or what?
if your wanting it to be switched power (IE bike is turned off it is off) you will need to add a relay, you dont have to get the over priced kawasaki one you can wire up any relay as long as it can handle the volts and watts, id also make sure to have an inline fuse.
feel free to PM me if your wanting help,
i have a first gen and have installed a switch aux fuse block i made and i rune a aux plug , heated grips, gps/phone power supply, off it and also have an alarm system thats wired hot (always on)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
When I saw the wires dangling on my 2014, I thought this is where all accessories should connect, but I guess it's really more for lighter duty cell phone, GPS, etc. The power point kit made by Kawi was crazy expensive, like $140;l then saw the other aftermarket devices, but many are being panned as crap quality by reviewers. I suppose heated grips should likely be on a heavy dedicated fused line going the battery, not tapped in to the power point.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,159 Posts
When I saw the wires dangling on my 2014, I thought this is where all accessories should connect, but I guess it's really more for lighter duty cell phone, GPS, etc. The power point kit made by Kawi was crazy expensive, like $140;l then saw the other aftermarket devices, but many are being panned as crap quality by reviewers. I suppose heated grips should likely be on a heavy dedicated fused line going the battery, not tapped in to the power point.
you should be just fine running accessorys from the factory replay stop, just add a relay and fuses
here is mine that i made on my 09 http://www.kawasakiversys.com/forums/10-modifications-performance/85930-damn-you-ocd-plans-projects-come.html#post940961
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,096 Posts
silvie, did you wire yours in using a plug and play prewired into the 2008 harness? I was under the impression that the connector for the plug an play stuff wasn't included till 2009 or maybe gen2 models.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I guess I'm going to step back and figure out what I want and just do my own thing, hate spending money on overpriced stuff. Thanks for everyone's input.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
670 Posts
silvie, did you wire yours in using a plug and play prewired into the 2008 harness? I was under the impression that the connector for the plug an play stuff wasn't included till 2009 or maybe gen2 models.
interested as well. i have an '09 never considered that there might be taps to use.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
19,132 Posts
I was under the impression that the plug didn't exist for gen one 2008 bikes...
Sorry kohburn - I SHOULD have specified that post was about my 2015 V!

Additionally - I bought a 12v plug 'kit' at Cycle Gear ($13) which I will install on the GREEN HORNET TOO...!

:thumb:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,159 Posts
silvie, did you wire yours in using a plug and play prewired into the 2008 harness? I was under the impression that the connector for the plug an play stuff wasn't included till 2009 or maybe gen2 models.
if you read the post i linked too it shows how i added a switch fuse block to the first gen for under $10~
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,159 Posts
interested as well. i have an '09 never considered that there might be taps to use.
if you read the post i linked too it shows how i added a switch fuse block to the first gen for under $10~
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,159 Posts
If you look on Ebay there are a ton of cheap options shipped directly from China.
yup thats what i did, ordered a sealed 4 fuse fuse block and 4 wire relay. then heat shrink , connectors , zipties, and wire insulation to make it ann nice and clean
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top