Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After an unfortunate incident on my way home from work one day I'm in need of some repair advice from the community. I hit a culvert which resulted in a bent from rim, bent handlebars, a crack at the base of the handlebar clamp, and a crack clean through the upper triple clamp.

This is the damage I can see. These parts can be replaced no problem. However, I'm nervous about the possibility that I may have damaged the forks or the frame in a way that is not obvious to the naked eye. I change my own oil but I'm no mechanic. I've taken all the body work off to check over the frame as best I can. I see no bends or cracks. I look at the forks and they seem straight and parallel, but doubt my own expertise. I've ridden the bike up and down the street in front of my house and other than the bumps from the flat spot in the rim it seems to track straight and true.

So, is there a more accurate and reliable way to test my forks/frame outside of taking it to the shop?

Attachments

·
Premium Member
16,150 Posts
Something to check also.....If you put the bike on a rear stand with the wheel straight. Check if your windscreen is tilted to one side or the other. If it is you have a bent inner cowling bracket. Simple to replace. I had to replace mine when i got hit by a car.

·
Registered
456 Posts
I doubt the frame is damaged...

But I'd replace both triple trees, the lower one might be tweaked And the forks? I'd disassemble both to check if they are straight. Without disassembling you can't tell if the slider is straight and it might bind.

The wheel is not that bad, I've had worse damage from potholes.

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
The wheel is not that bad, I've had worse damage from potholes.