Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Loving my 2015 Versys 650 ABS since the day we met, but Im always interested and checking in with what new tech is coming out. Kawasaki's just released the plans for the new 2019 Versys 650 (as well as a huge overhaul of the 1000) and I noticed that the new gauge not only is redesigned, it also has a built in gear position indicator. Im going to go to my local store and compare the differences in wiring to my 2015, but i need an answer from someone with more technical experience: could this simply be a software update to our existing dashes? Or would an entire new one be needed?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
83 Posts
Loving my 2015 Versys 650 ABS since the day we met, but Im always interested and checking in with what new tech is coming out. Kawasaki's just released the plans for the new 2019 Versys 650 (as well as a huge overhaul of the 1000) and I noticed that the new gauge not only is redesigned, it also has a built in gear position indicator. Im going to go to my local store and compare the differences in wiring to my 2015, but i need an answer from someone with more technical experience: could this simply be a software update to our existing dashes? Or would an entire new one be needed?
I don't know about swapping gauges, but if it is a gear indicator you want I think this is your only course. https://www.kawasaki.ca/accessories/streettouring/versys-650-abs-lt/2015/electrical-and-instruments/

Maybe Dale at Big Top would give you a deal. Man, those things are pricey!:surprise:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,251 Posts
LCD displays need to have the symbols built into them, so no I don't believe it could be just a software change which could be applied to your existing instrument cluster.

The gear position can be read from the ECU. There are some inexpensive 3rd party gear position indicators which plug into the ECU diagnostic connector rather than the connector under the front fairing. So it is an option if you want to add it but not pay the crazy OEM price. Apparently the aftermarket units work slightly differently because of how they derive the information but get the job done. One review said it will continue to indicate the gear you were in when you came to a stop, even if you then shift to another gear. But once you move at all it shows the correct gear. But that was on the internet, so who knows how accurate it is. In any case, there is a cheaper option than OEM.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top