Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I've been riding for a couple years now, started on a used 2006 Suzuki GS500F, then purchased a 2019 Versys 650 brand new from a dealer back in April. I liked the styling and more upright position of the Versys. I've really enjoyed the bike, but the one thing I can't get over is how jerky the throttle is. It really rears its ugly head in certain situations. The bike seems to either be going or "dying". In stop and go traffic it's a real pain in the ass. I know it's not ideal, but sometimes a slow-down mid corner is necessary which often feels like a sudden cut off coupled with extreme engine braking, and then rolling back on the throttle is a jerky surging mess, and when all that happens mid-lean it does not feel good. Slow maneuvering is less than confidence inspiring. Even just going along a smooth road and then hitting a bump causes the bike to surge forward or slow down suddenly. Heaven forbid I have to go down a gravel road or something with some unavoidable pot holes, I probably look like a bobble-head, and not because of the bumps themselves. At some point I found myself on a bumpy dirt road out in the middle of nowhere, and it was terrible. I essentially had to keep the clutch partly held in at all times to prevent constantly surging forward or dying after each bump. I'm making sure I'm not gripping the throttle too tightly, making sure to be smooth with my throttle hand movements, none of that seems to matter.