Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

Concerns of an older rider

19K views 51 replies 19 participants last post by  fasteddiecopeman 
#1 ·
I find myself at 65 years old at a crossroads of sorts... I've been riding since 1972 and would like to continue to ride, but I find that the larger bikes are just heavier than I feel comfortable with. I bought a 2019 Yamaha XT250 which I have set up for trail riding. (Love that bike already!) Now, I want to go with a 300x for my street riding bike if I can "dial it in" to suit my needs and size. My plan is to change the sprockets to a 15 front/ 44 rear which I have already bought. (Yes, I've read the sprocket change thread...) Change the seat to a tall Seat Concepts seat. I'm 6'2". Those two mods should give me the comfort and lower rpm range that I think will make this bike all I need for highway travel at 70-75 mph.
In the collective wisdom of this site do you think these changes will give me a bike that will suit me?
I'm looking at several deals right now, but haven't bought a 300x yet.

#2 ·
Have you test ridden one? I really thought I wanted a Versys 300X until I rode one. It might look like an adventure bike, but it rides like a Ninja 300. A lot of high RPM revving to do what you want to do. It doesn't hurt the engine, but is definitely a different experience if you have previously had bikes tuned for low RPM torque.

#3 ·
What always amazes me is how much more light and nimble my X300 feels compared with my V-Strom 650. On paper it does not look much but in the real world the X300 is much more nimble, but still stable and so much less intimidating to ride in tricky situations.

I am also surprised that geared up a little that it can certainly hold its own on major roads. Sure you need to rev it but that motor is well tested and reliable.
If you trail ride an XT250 the seat height will not be an issue and the bike will travel so much easier than you Yamaha.