commuting tips / tricks - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Versys-X 300 General Discussion Please post any 2017+ Kawasaki Versys-X 300 related topics that DO NOT fit into any of the other topics here.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By leftbrain99

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-27-2019, 08:51 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
commuting tips / tricks

Okay, so I'm VERY new to motorcycling. Only 250 km on the odometer of this 2018 Versys-X, which is my first bike.

Because I am cheap, I repurposed a pelican case I had (for transporting quadcopter drones) into a top case. See pic.

My question is... what do people do / how do they shuffle their gear around when commuting.

For example, I need to wear business casual (including sort-of dress shoes) for work. I also have a messenger bag / brief case. But when riding, I wear: helmet, jacket, overpants, riding boots, and gloves.

I'm thinking that I can put the messenger bag and my dress shoes in the trunk, and drive to work. In the parking lot, take off all gear except the jacket. The overpants, boots, and gloves can go in the trunk. There's no way the helmet would fit in there. Would you carry the helmet into your workplace, or somehow chain it to the bike?

Sorry if these seem like dumb questions. Like I said - NOOB.

Thanks for your consideration.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190727_173200.jpg (89.1 KB, 52 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-27-2019, 09:11 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Garage