steering lock problem - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Versys-X 300 General Discussion Please post any 2017+ Kawasaki Versys-X 300 related topics that DO NOT fit into any of the other topics here.

3Likes
  • 1 Post By 2wheels4fun
  • 2 Post By Sarco

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 11:57 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
steering lock problem

Greetings,

Okay, this might be a stupid question. I'm still a total Moto Noob. I passed my safety course (Canadian version of the MSF), and am now just practicing before I do my road test in a week.

I bought a 2018 Versys-X new. I've only got 150 km on the odo thus far.

One problem with the bike that my friend noticed the other day is that I cannot use the steering lock. I can turn the bike On and Off okay. But when I push the key in and try to move it to the leftmost position to lock the steering, it doesn't work. I tried both keys. The cylinder rotates about 2/3 of the way between off and lock. The key is not removable in that position, and the steering is not locked in that position. So I have to turn the key back to off to remove it and the steering isn't locked.

I ensured that the handlebars were maximally rotated to the left before attempting the above procedure.

Am I missing something or is there a problem with the bike?

Thanks for any tips / advice. Again, sorry if this is a dumb question.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 12:29 PM

On some bikes, maximally rotated to the left does not work and have to come a little off of it and back to right a little.
Fastoman likes this.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 01:15 PM Thread Starter

2W4F,

That took me literally two seconds to do, and it totally worked. I just backed off the L rotation of the bars by about 5 degrees and the cylinder rotated perfectly.

Thanks so much! That made my day.

:-)
onewizard and Fastoman like this.

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 10:39 PM