Can one do an oil change with the stock tool kit? - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Versys-X 300 General Discussion Please post any 2017+ Kawasaki Versys-X 300 related topics that DO NOT fit into any of the other topics here.

2Likes
  • 1 Post By twowheels
  • 1 Post By AngryGazebo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-25-2018, 01:26 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Can one do an oil change with the stock tool kit?

I don't have access to my bike currently, but will be pulling it out of storage next week. I've never done an oil change before, and curious if the stock tool kit has the right sized wrench/socket for the drain bolt? Will I need a filter wrench too?

I can't find any info online about the tools that are under my bike's seat.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-25-2018, 03:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern_Rider View Post
I don't have access to my bike currently, but will be pulling it out of storage next week. I've never done an oil change before, and curious if the stock tool kit has the right sized wrench/socket for the drain bolt? Will I need a filter wrench too?

I’m interested as well, just out of principal.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-25-2018, 07:40 PM Thread Starter

Garage
I got a reply on Reddit, there is a wrench for the drain bolt but not the oil filter. Also, the manual states the oil filter has to be tightened to 17lb/ft which is tighter than hand tight. Person mentioned a low profile tool is need for the filter given the proximity to the exhaust. I got a K&N filter with a bolt like protrusion on the front, so I assume the kit socket wrench will work.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-25-2018, 08:35 PM

Garage
There is a spanner for the oil drain plug but nothing to assist with filter removal/re-install. As the header pipe is in the way I very much doubt the ability to torque it anyway. ft/lbs measured by hand has been my method.