Ideal Fuel for the 300; also pointers for chain maintenance - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Versys-X 300 General Discussion Please post any 2017+ Kawasaki Versys-X 300 related topics that DO NOT fit into any of the other topics here.

4Likes
  • 2 Post By whisperquiet
  • 1 Post By fasteddiecopeman
  • 1 Post By cjcintucson

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-28-2018, 07:21 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Ideal Fuel for the 300; also pointers for chain maintenance

Hi all,

Total noob here.

Want to know if it is enough to put the lowest(87) octane fuel.

The manual says 87 or higher Anti-knock Index, and from what I can research the Anti-knock index is actually (91+82)/2 = 86.7
Are there any benefits from putting higher octane rated fuel? Does anyone get problems from using lower octane fuel?

Also, How do y'all maintain your chains? is WD-40 from Walmart enough?

He who is brave is free
- Seneca the Younger
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-28-2018, 09:39 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
I run 87 octane in my X 300........runs great with no problems and you will not see any noticeable performance gain with higher octane fuel.

The best thing you can do for chain life is DO NOT run it too tight. I run mine at the max specified looseness and lube it occasionally with (currently Honda Pro) motorcycle no fling chain lube. Others will chime in about WD 40.....I use it on a rag to clean a chain and then lube with the chain lube. A can of motorcycle chain lube will normally last longer than your chain.
SECoda and Diogenes like this.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-28-2018, 09:46 PM

+1 on not running the chain too tight. Nothing wears one faster IMO. Ok maybe lots of rust but I doubt even that.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-29-2018, 10:11 AM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Quote: