Concerns of an older rider - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Like Tree31Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 52 (permalink) Old 02-15-2020, 06:45 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Concerns of an older rider

I find myself at 65 years old at a crossroads of sorts... I've been riding since 1972 and would like to continue to ride, but I find that the larger bikes are just heavier than I feel comfortable with. I bought a 2019 Yamaha XT250 which I have set up for trail riding. (Love that bike already!) Now, I want to go with a 300x for my street riding bike if I can "dial it in" to suit my needs and size. My plan is to change the sprockets to a 15 front/ 44 rear which I have already bought. (Yes, I've read the sprocket change thread...) Change the seat to a tall Seat Concepts seat. I'm 6'2". Those two mods should give me the comfort and lower rpm range that I think will make this bike all I need for highway travel at 70-75 mph.
In the collective wisdom of this site do you think these changes will give me a bike that will suit me?
I'm looking at several deals right now, but haven't bought a 300x yet.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 52 (permalink) Old 02-15-2020, 09:08 AM

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Garage
Have you test ridden one? I really thought I wanted a Versys 300X until I rode one. It might look like an adventure bike, but it rides like a Ninja 300. A lot of high RPM revving to do what you want to do. It doesn't hurt the engine, but is definitely a different experience if you have previously had bikes tuned for low RPM torque.

My Versys Travels:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 52 (permalink) Old 02-15-2020, 09:17 AM

Garage