Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

Mid TN: New to Versys, not too new to Motorcycles...

1K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  nbleak21 
#1 ·
Well, two weeks after I registered on the forum, I finally found out why I wasn't able to participate in threads. Looks like I'll have to make an introduction!

My name is Nick, I'm a US Army Veteran and I'm currently working towards my degree in engineering.

Having owned a few motorcycles over the past 12 years, I found myself back in the market after a 3 year hiatus when parking became an issue at my university. In august I picked up a ninja 250 as a commuter and felt I needed something more substantial to lug my 6'2, 230lbs around... So after researching everything in the single/dual cyl category at 600cc~700cc. I narrowed my decision down to the BMW G650GS since it was half the insurance cost of any other model out there... So I had my mind made up, until I actually tried purchasing one. I refused to pay over MSRP(not including taxes) and all three dealers within 100mi radius wouldn't budge on their prices at $600-1200 above that (except for a NOS 2013 model that they would sell for $145 over msrp, plus all the prep fees, taxes, etc.)

At that point I swung by the local kawasaki dealership to look at the KLR650, thinking that I could just order a set of supermoto wheels and sacrifice the fuel injection and ABS that I had hoped to gain in a new purchase...

After discussing my woes with the salesman (poor fella) He turned me to the versys, said he could make me a heck of a deal, and even throw in a set of color matched hard cases and mount... At that point I told him he was speaking my language, and I went for a test ride. It was most everything I dreamed of in a motorcycle. Great balance, good low end power, excellent handling and stability, fuel injected, and abs.