Lot of Ex-BMW owners here? - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Other Motorcycle Make and Model Discussion Discuss other motorcycles by Kawasaki or any other motorcycle / automobile manufacturer here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-06-2009, 11:07 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Lot of Ex-BMW owners here?

Rode and loved my Beemers for over 25 years. I think that's why my Versys appeals to me so much. I started riding Beemers when they were simple, fun bikes you could tour easily with and enjoy. As the years went by though they have become increasingly more complicated and less reliable in my opinion. Still very expensive too! Less and less dealers around the country to get the expensive but necessary service done at as well.
Bought my Versys while BMW was still a year away from having the new 650 Twin available. I thought I would have it until they came out and then trade or sell for a BMW 650 Twin. Not gonna happen!
Just love my Versys and it's paid for too. It does everything I want in a bike and more. Not a lot of expensive service either. I was a BMWMOA member for many years but no more. I'm still in and active with the local BMW bike club here in Denver. They are a lot of fun folks and we have great rides and events throughout the year.
Will I have a BMW again? Maybe, but they had better start getting the many reliability issues resolved. In the meantime though I'm having a great time with my Versys!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-06-2009, 04:12 PM

I love my BMWs, a 87-K100rs and a 2000 R1100R. Use them for two up touring/camping, have had no trouble with either and I do all the service's myself. The V is great for one up camping/touring and just driving around town. I really like the new S1000RR, very sharp bike and the 198 HP helps out too.