Ninja vs Versys - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Other Motorcycle Make and Model Discussion Discuss other motorcycles by Kawasaki or any other motorcycle / automobile manufacturer here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-07-2009, 03:43 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Question Ninja vs Versys

Hi,

I'm new to the forum, been reading it for a week or so, and now trying to get advice/opinions. I'm 26 and thinking about getting my first bike. I live in San Francisco, and want the bike to ride outside the city. Not really using it to commute. I took the Basic Rider Course a couple of weeks ago, and that's all I have dealt with motorbikes, so a total beginner.

Thus said, I have been considering a few models, and ended up with the Versys and Er-6n. Er6n looks like a commuter bike, so I was almost decided to go with the Versys (I liked the Suzuki Gladius too). But I went to a store and tried them, and even being 6' 1" tall, the Versys looks tall to me. I felt comfortable with the Ninja though. I hadn't consider it before because it's sport alike, and that "means" speed, which is not what I'm looking for. But turns out that it's the same engine, etc, so it's just a matter of riding position.

Yes, I have read reviews. All of them say Versys is awesome to ride, and that the upright position is a plus to the comfort. But I still find it ... ugly? On the other point, the Ninja looks great, but might be a little less comfortable for long trips (a few hours, not really days/vacation in the bike), specially having the pedals a little far rear, which forced me to bend my back a little while testing it. How is the feeling in the Versys riding in the freeway being upright?

What's your advice for a begginer? I'm sure many of you are delighted with the Versys, but maybe because you had other bikes before?

Any other models in the range I should consider?

Thank you!

PS: Please, excuse my language mistakes, I'm not an English native.