There are a lot of sick people out there - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Off Topic Discussions For all of your off topic talk and just general B.S. Jokes, funny stories, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-21-2010, 01:19 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
There are a lot of sick people out there

When I was a child, riding in the back of my father's big Pontiac Station wagon, I remember the ride was fun for about 30 minutes; after that, I just wanted to get out. Sure, it was fun sliding around on that big metal floor every time we made a turn, but I always felt a little queasy. As I got older, I graduated to the back seat of that rolling tank. However, even though I was only sliding on one axis instead of two by sitting on that plush vinyl seat, I still felt queasy...maybe even more so. It wasn't until I grew a bit more, got a little taller and when I could clearly see outside the windows, that the queasiness started to go away.

Many years passed since then, and it wasn't until recently that I ever gave it another thought. You know, I know of many people who get motion sickness in a car, including my wife (she is only 4'11.5"); yet I have never heard of anyone getting motion sickness on a motorcycle (although I am sure there are a few). As a side note; animals have a high tendency to get sick in a car as well. Being that it is so much more common for people in a car, I wondered why this is.

In 1999, a study was done in the UK that suggests motion sickness is directly related to your view outside the vehicle. Could that be a subconscious reason never want to drive anything but motorcycles once we get on them? I used to wear a full-faced helmet. True, it is safer and quieter; but for the past few years, I have only worn 3/4 helmets. My 3/4 helmet gives me 100% FOV (Field of View). I find myself much more relaxed when I am driving with a 3/4 helmet, as opposed to a full-faced helmet.