Going back on the road - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Off Topic Discussions For all of your off topic talk and just general B.S. Jokes, funny stories, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-15-2014, 01:18 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Going back on the road

Well, 50 years old and I'm thinking about going back to driving a truck. I've worked for a truck driving school for about 6-7 years now. I was a truck driving instructor for about 4 years and I've been supervising the truck driving program and managing the bus transportation program for about 2.5 years. About a year ago the program hit a snag that I'm not sure it will recover from and about 6 months ago I got into a vacation dispute with my supervisor's manager. My supervisor ultimately quit over her antics and I decided to stick it out to see what happens. Well what happened is my work schedule was changed to working every weekend and things have been pretty tense since then, it's time for me to leave.
It seems I'm not an inside office kind of guy anyway. Before I drove I was a supervisor in a warehouse office, that lasted about 2.5 years before I took an outside job and started driving. I feel claustrophobic.
For you guys that drive, or have driven, you know what a change it is. My wife completely hates the idea but I'm not sure I want to deal with anymore office politics and office pussies.
I'm not going OTR, I'll find something where I'm home every day but I also know it'll mean 14 hour days. I can also find something that'll have me off on the weekends. Something I've been wanting to do for a couple of years now is be a MSF rider coach but my work circumstances have not allowed it. Now I have the opportunity to choose my work schedule.
Anyway, just had to vent. This isn't a move too sure about but I'll do what I need to do.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-15-2014, 04:42 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 23 Post(s)

Ed