Bad Habits learned from riding motorcycles - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Off Topic Discussions For all of your off topic talk and just general B.S. Jokes, funny stories, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 08:13 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Bad Habits learned from riding motorcycles

Hey all,

I am a newbie to motorcycles - started riding about a year ago and have about 10k miles under my belt.
Lately, I have been cutting off people when I drive the car thinking there is plenty of time before they catch up to me - which is very true with the motorcycle, but not so true with the VW jetta diesel. Now I am wanting a prosche/Vette or something much faster, or just ride the bike 100% of the time. I have to make a conscious decision not to get infront of them - and get "Why aren't you going?" from the wife once in a while..

What bad habits did you learn from riding your motorcycle?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 08:28 AM

Interesting question. If anything, riding a motorcycle has helped me unlearn bad habits acquired behind the wheel:
I have learned to assume no one sees me.
I have learned that given the off chance that they do see me I should assume their intent is to run me over.
I have learned that people driving cars will get angry and occasionally aggressive if they think I've cut them off.
I have learned I don't own the road.

Perhaps the one bad habit I have learned riding a motorcycle is taking longer routes than necessary to reach my destination. That's not really a bad hibit, though, if it adds pleasure to the ride. That's why they make gasoline.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

[SIZE="1"]Ride. Good.

2003 ST1300ABS
2008 Versys
IBA 59868
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 08:29 AM

I learned the hard way. Riding beyond your abilities, and running of the road in a curb, trees always win!