Help the wife & I go on an epic adventure! - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Off Topic Discussions For all of your off topic talk and just general B.S. Jokes, funny stories, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-02-2012, 02:02 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Help the wife & I go on an epic adventure!

Okay world,

The wife and I are going on a motorcycle vacation! I have been working for the last 7 years and haven't taken a vacation other then weekenders and my honeymoon. We started this crowdfunding thing to help us fund it...http://rkthb.co/9828

No Video

We are renting Vstroms (I know, i know it woulda been better on versys, but sadly no one rents those and riding 2-3 days out and back would have taken up all the time i could get off. Plus the stroms were the cheapest bike anyone had by like $50/day) So anyways, we are renting Vstroms from this really cool guy in Gunnison, Co (http://www.rentmotorcyclescolorado.com/). We will then ride to Mesa Verde, Hovenweep, Natural Bridges, Monument Valley, Navajo national monument, Antelope canyon, the grand canyon, "the wave" in coconino, Bryce Canyon, Arches national park, and then back to Gunnison. A little over 1500 miles total and we have 7 days to do it. Should be about 5 hours in the saddle everyday.

We will be camping the whole time (i assume we might have to stay in at least one crappy hotel, for the misses and to charge our stuff). We are taking red eye flights to save money and plan to eat boil-in-a-bags most of our meals.

There is more information on the donation page but just so you know where we are coming from... the wife is in her 4th year of her Pharmacy doctorate (8 yrs total) and once she graduates, it will be awhile before she can take a vacation. I have been working so that she does not have to and would LOVE for this vacation to be everything it can be.