Never Again - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Off Topic Discussions For all of your off topic talk and just general B.S. Jokes, funny stories, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-01-2010, 06:54 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Never Again

I started riding 24 months ago. I've found this Forum to be extremely helpful in so many ways, I thought I'd try to return the favor by giving a report on my experiences - with an emphasis on safety-related experiences.

I first bought a KLX 250 S, to ride on backroads and dirt trails in northern WV. I'm 5' 8", 29" inseam, so I had to "tip toe" to reach the ground. The dealer who sold me the bike was an experienced racer and told me that the bike wasn't too high - that I'd get used to it. So, I rode around the store (on asphalt) a few times and headed to my cabin. When I had to make a sharp turn on the dirt road going up the mountain to my cabin, I had to slow down - and then when I reached down with my foot to maintain balance, the bike leaned over, and down it went before I could catch it. I got it up, got it started again and managed to get it home. I took it out four or five times on nearby (unpaved) backroads over the next several days. Each time I went out, I laid the bike down, usually from a dead stop on soft ground. I was pretty discouraged, but so far not hurt, although my left leg was getting a little sore from pulling it out from under the bike. I was also a bit confused, because I had ridden "quite a bit" when I was a teenager (many, many years ago) and never had a problem.