Hello from Ocala, FL - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-23-2015, 06:45 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Hello from Ocala, FL

Hi guys (and gals). I am a 49 year old proud owner of a brand new '15 Versys 1000 (sunburst orange) which I've added to my '15 KLR-650 (black).

The Versys is my second bike (total noob with less than 2k miles) and learning something new every day. I'm kicking myself for not riding all these years because I've found that I picked up on it right away and I'm loving it! Better late than never, right?

With money burning a hole I've gone a little overboard on extra goodies for someone with so little miles and someone who doesn't have the luxury of frequent long tours. In fact, due to my job, I'm only home 3-days a month (which is why I have so few miles).

I had to have the LED light bar (even though I don't get to ride at night) a Two Brothers S1-R slip-on exhaust and Corbin seat along with the top case (despite not going on long trips), frame sliders, DC power outlet (no GPS) and a bike cover.

I love the Corbin. With the stock seat, I had to stop every hour due to tailbone pain and I was constantly sliding forward. The only good thing about it was the height (I'm 6'3).

The Corbin sits a little lower but due to the construction of the side bolsters I'm not completely flat-footed at traffic lights as I was with stock (I did not go to Corbin to have the seat custom made. I simply ordered it on line). Not a biggie, I don't slide forward anymore and no more tailbone pain. Score!

The Two Brothers S1-R is not nearly as loud or as aggressive on the '15 Versys 1000 as it is on other bikes I've heard. It has more of a sophisticated tone (much better than stock). Considering the bike, its looks and purpose that tone is perfect. Kudos TB!